Block Universe

Block Universe is London’s leading international performance art festival. We bring together cutting-edge performance art at the cross-section of contemporary visual art, dance and music. Held in major institutions and venues across London, previous partners include the ICA, Sadler’s Wells, Royal Academy of Arts, the British Museum, Somerset House and The Showroom amongst other unique offsite locations.

The festival has produced over 52 productions, 25 new commissions and brought 11 international premieres to London over the past 4 years with the mission to create a long-term, sustained engagement with performance art in the city. In pioneering this new platform, Block Universe aims to position London at the forefront of the dialogue surrounding performance internationally. In 2019, the festival will return for its fifth edition, which is held from 25 May to 2 June, and features an expanded public programme of talks and workshops.

Block Universe was founded in 2015 by Louise O’Kelly, and the 2018 team includes Xica Aires, Production Manager; Tatjana Damm, Business Development; Halime √Ėzdemir, Development Manager; Elli Resvanis, General Manager and Katharina Worf, Co-Curator.

The team is supported by an advisory panel comprised of Steven Bode, Alessandra Canavesi, Amy Stephens, Fatos Ustek and Robert Violette.

We would also like to acknowledge our gratitude towards founding members of the Block Universe team, without whom none of this would be possible. Thank you to Nicky van Breugel and Burcu Yuksel for their time, energy and passion.

Block Universe (CIC) is a not-for-profit Community Interest Company, registered in England and Wales. Company no. 9499938. To read our Privacy Policy please click here.